TEXAS DRUG MANUFACTURING LAWS

Manufacturing illegal drugs in Texas is a very serious drug crime. It is a crime in Texas to grow, produce, or possess certain controlled plants and other naturally occurring elements and to produce illegal controlled substances which require the use of certain chemicals and equipment in their production.

TEXAS CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES ACT

Title 6, Subtitle C, Chapter 481 of the Texas Health and Safety Code divides controlled substances into five penalty groups, with a separate category for marijuana. A complete list of controlled substances including prescription drugs are listed in the code. Penalties for possession, delivery and drug manufacturing are dependent on the quantity of the drug and how the substance is classified.

There are four Penalty Groups listed:

  • Group One: Opiates such as Cocaine, Methamphetamine and Heroin among others.
  • Group One A: LSD
  • Group Two: Ecstasy, Mescaline and other hallucinogenic substances
  • Group Three: Valium, Xanax and other depressants
  • Group Four: Substances containing Dionine, Motofen, Buprenorphone or Pryovalerone

PENALTIES FOR DRUG DELIVERY OR DRUG MANUFACTURING

Penalties can be increased if you are charged in a drug free zone, such as a school or playground.

Group 1ChargePunishment
Less than one gramState jail Felony180 days to 2 years in state jail and a fine not to exceed $10,000
1 - 4 gramsSecond-degree Felony2 to 20 years in a state prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000
4 - 200 gramsFirst-degree Felony5 to 99 years or life in a state prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000
200 - 400 gramsEnhanced First-degree Felony10 to 99 years or life in a state prison and a fine up to $100,000
400 grams or moreEnhanced First-degree Felony15 to 99 years or life in a state prison and a fine up to $250,000
Group 1AChargePunishment
Less than 20 unitsState jail Felony180 days to 2 years in state jail and a fine not to exceed $10,000
20 - 80 unitsSecond-degree Felony2 to 20 years in a state prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000
80 - 4,000 unitsFirst-degree Felony5 to 99 years or life in a state prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000
4,000 units or moreEnhanced First-degree Felony15 to 99 years or life in a state prison and a fine up to $250,000
Group 2ChargePunishment
Less than one gramState jail Felony180 days to 2 years in state jail and a fine not to exceed $10,000
1 - 4 gramsSecond-degree Felony2 to 20 years in a state prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000
4 - 400 gramsFirst-degree Felony5 to 99 years or life in a state prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000
400 grams or moreEnhanced First-degree Felony10 to 99 years or life in a state prison and a fine not to exceed $100,000
Group 3 &4ChargePunishment
Less than 28 gramsState jail Felony180 days to 2 years in state jail and a fine not to exceed $10,000
28 - 200 gramsSecond-degree Felony2 to 20 years in a state prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000
200 - 400 gramsFirst-degree Felony5 to 99 years or life in a state prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000
400 grams or moreEnhanced First-degree Felony10 to 99 years or life in a state prison and a fine not to exceed $100,000

CALL FOR A FREE CONSULTATION AND CONFIDENTIAL CASE REVIEW

Acquiring a criminal attorney experienced in defending drug crimes is critical to the outcome of your situation. I offer a free and confidential case review and consultation. Call 512-930-2120 now or fill out the contact form and I will begin working to secure your legal rights immediately.