Williamson County DWI and DUI Charges
What does a conviction in Williamson County for DWI and DUI get you? Either of these charges can cost your legal right to drive, fines, ignition lock devices installed on your vehicle, community service and in some cases – jail time. When do you need a DWI lawyer in Williamson County? The answer is in all cases.
You Need the Best DWI Defense Lawyer to Protect your Rights
When Stephen Hesse takes you case, he will personally work with you. He will take the time to learn the personal facts of your situation. This can make the difference between having a permanent DWI conviction on your record or not. Williamson County is well known for their aggressive prosecution of DWI and DUI charges. If you have been arrested for drunk driving DWI Attorney Stephen Hesse can provide the experience with the Williamson County Criminal Justice System to protect your legal rights.
Experience Can Make All the Difference in Your Case
Stephen Hesse has over 20 years experience dealing with Texas drunk driving charges. He has worked as a prosecutor as well as a defense attorney. He is experienced with the Williamson County Criminal Court system. He is certified by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization in criminal law. He has the experience to get you the best results the facts of your case and the law allow.
Texas Implied Consent Laws
When you received your driver’s license, you agreed to consent to give evidence against yourself by means of a chemical test if you are arrested for driving under the influence. Here is the law spelled out:
Sec 724.011. CONSENT TO TAKING OF SPECIMEN.
- (a) If a person is arrested for an offense arising out of acts alleged to have been committed while the person was operating a motor vehicle in a public place, or a watercraft, while intoxicated, or an offense under Section 106.041, Alcoholic Beverage Code, the person is deemed to have consented, subject to this chapter, to submit to the taking of one or more specimens of the person's breath or blood for analysis to determine the alcohol concentration or the presence in the person's body of a controlled substance, drug, dangerous drug, or other substance.
- (b) A person arrested for an offense described by Subsection (a) may consent to submit to the taking of any other type of specimen to determine the person's alcohol concentration.
What You Should Know About DWI and the Law
When a driver either fails or refuses to submit to a breath/blood test, they will receive a suspension of their driving privileges. This becomes effective 40 days after the refusal or failure of the test unless his or her attorney requests a license suspension hearing within 15 days of his arrest. This suspension is only automatic if the driver fails to request an Administrative License Revocation Hearing (ALR).
There are three standard physical coordination tests that police often administer before they resort to further testing. These tests include the horizontal gaze test, one-legged standing test, and the walk and turn test. As a general rule (and unlike chemical testing), there is no legal penalty for refusing to take these tests although the arresting officer can testify as to your refusal in court.
What Happens if I Refuse a Blood or Breath Test?
If you refuse to take the test, you will be facing heavy penalties, including suspension of your license, jail time and ignition interlock devices placed on your vehicle. Your refusal will be used against you in court by the prosecution. You might have a better end result to your case by submitting to the testing, it depends on your individual situation. There are situations where refusal might be to your advantage.
What If I Failed a Blood Test?
Most people, along with many DWI lawyers themselves, believe the results of a blood test are consistently 100% accurate. This is just not the case. Stephen Hesse has the knowledge of the science and procedure associated with the blood draw procedure to question every facet of the test, from the manner in which the blood was drawn and stored to the final analysis.
Free Consultation and Confidential Case Review
We offer a free and confidential case review and consultation. Call us anytime night or day to discuss your options. When you retain our legal services, we will do what we can to work with you regardless of your financial history and can work out a payment plan for you if needed. Call 512-930-2277 or fill out the contact form now and we will begin working to secure your legal rights immediately